Site history

The Moulin de Brotz was a strategic location during the resistance in World War 2

In 1944, the Gestapo and the militia occupied Miserai and used the chateau as a base to search for weapons parachuted on the "Guard" drop zone, a zone approved by the Air Operations Bureau or BOA. The BOA was created by general de Gaulle to rationalize connections between the internal resistance and the free France in order to deliver weapons, ammunitions and supplies. On June 5, the militia and the Gestapo organized a search of the property. Finding nothing near the chateau, they decided to broaden their investigations and, at gunpoint, forced the owner of the estate, Mr. Judicaël Levesque, to lead them first to the watermill and then to La Poussinière, an abandoned caretaker's house.

Mr Levesque knew his son Jerome who led the resistance in the "maquis de l'Home Chamondot" had hidden weapons in the attic of La Poussinière and somewhere around the mill, he also knew that he would be shot immediately if the Germans found them. Fortunately, Jerome had a hunch and removed the weapons and ammunition from the attic half an hour earlier to hide them somewhere in the nearby woods. To Mr. Levesque's surprise and relief, the weapons were not found. 48 years later, however, in 1992, during the emptying and cleaning of the Brotz lake, several boxes of grenades were discovered in the mud and defused by the demining service.

Flour production in 1810

The 1810 document below shows the mill's daily flour production was four hundredweight per day or about 400 kg. Today, more than 210 years later, the mill no longer produces flour, however, barley remains an essential commodity for successful operations on the site.

watermill interior mechanism flour production 17th (1)
19th century flour maker
resistance3
resistance2
previous arrow
next arrow

Histoire du site

La production de farine en 1810

Le document daté de 1810 ci-dessous nous révèle que la production de farine à l’époque était en moyenne de quatre quintaux de farine de blé et d’orge par jour. Aujourd’hui, plus de 210 ans plus tard le moulin ne produit plus de farine, mais l’orge reste une denrée indispensable au succès des opérations sur le site.

 

Le Moulin de Brotz était un haut lieu de la résistance pendant la 2eme guerre mondiale

En 1944, la Gestapo et la milice occupaient le château de Miserai et utilisaient le domaine comme base pour rechercher des armes parachutées sur la zone “Garde”, zone homologuée par le Bureau des Opérations Aériennes (BOA). Le BOA avait été créé par le général de Gaulle pour rationaliser les liaisons entre la résistance intérieure et la France libre et livrer des armes et des munitions. Le 5 Juin, la milice et la Gestapo  cherchant ces armes organisent une perquisition à Miserai. Ne trouvant rien à proximité du château, ils décident d’élargir leurs investigations et, à la pointe du fusil, forcent Mr Judicaël Levesque alors propriétaire du domaine, à les conduire d’abord au moulin et ensuite à la Poussinière, une maison de gardien abandonnée.

Mr Levesque savait que son fils Jérôme qui dirigeait la résistance du maquis de l’Home Chamondot avait caché les armes dans le grenier de la Poussinière et aux abords du moulin, il savait également qu’il serait immédiatement abattu si les Allemands les découvraient. Heureusement, poussé par un pressentiment, Jérôme avait retiré les armes et les munitions du grenier une demi-heure plus tôt pour les cacher dans les bois. À la surprise et au grand soulagement de Mr Levesque, les armes n’ont pas été retrouvées. Cependant, 48 ans plus tard, en 1992, à l’occasion de la vidange et du nettoyage de l’étang de Brotz, plusieurs caisses de grenades ont été découvertes dans la boue et désamorcées par le service de déminage.